AP Fire Services Recruitment 2026 applicants should first note an important change to the educational qualification. Although the original notification mentioned SSC, the official corrigendum dated 18 September 2026 requires Intermediate or an equivalent examination recognised by the State Government. Candidates must also meet the Heavy Transport Driving Licence requirement.
For someone hoping to turn practical driving skills into a government career, this recruitment deserves a careful look. Driving ability is only one part of eligibility: education, age, licence validity, physical standards and supporting certificates also matter. Checking these conditions before paying the fee can save time and prevent avoidable disappointment.
The State Level Police Recruitment Board, Andhra Pradesh, issued notification Rc.No.94/SLPRB/Rect.2/2026 on 17 September 2026 for Driver Operator (Men) in the State Disaster Response and Fire Services Department. The post code is 43.
Two points need attention: The opening page announces 147 vacancies, but the district table contains a conflicting breakdown, explained below. The documents reviewed also do not specify application opening or closing dates; the notification says these will be announced separately.
AP Fire Services Recruitment 2026: Overview
| Particular | Details |
|---|---|
| Recruiting board | State Level Police Recruitment Board, Andhra Pradesh |
| Department | State Disaster Response and Fire Services Department |
| Post | Driver Operator (Men) |
| Post code | 43 |
| Announced vacancies | 147; see the district-table discrepancy below |
| Notification date | 17 September 2026 |
| Qualification corrigendum | 18 September 2026 |
| Corrected qualification | Intermediate or a recognised equivalent examination |
| Driving licence | Heavy Transport Driving Licence valid for the prescribed minimum two-year period |
| Eligible applicants | Men only |
| Application mode | Online |
| Application dates | To be announced separately, according to the notification |
| Pay scale | ₹32,670–₹1,01,970, plus Special Pay of ₹650 |
| Official website | SLPRB Andhra Pradesh |
AP Fire Services Notification 2026: Important Dates
A notification date does not automatically mean that applications open on the same day. The board states that the exact application schedule will be communicated through a separate press release. Until that schedule is available, applicants should avoid relying on an assumed deadline.
| Event | Date or status |
|---|---|
| Original notification | 17 September 2026 |
| Educational qualification amendment | 18 September 2026 |
| Age calculation date | 1 July 2026 |
| Educational qualification cutoff | 1 July 2026 |
| Two-year licence condition | Assessed as of the original notification date |
| Online application opening date | Not specified in the documents reviewed |
| Online application closing date | Not specified in the documents reviewed |
| Physical, driving and written tests | Schedule to be communicated by the board |
When checking AP Fire Services Recruitment 2026 updates, confirm that the notice applies to Post Code 43. SLPRB also conducts other recruitment processes, and their application dates or instructions should not be transferred to this post. Check the reference number, post name and date whenever you download an update.
AP Driver Operator Recruitment 2026: Vacancy Details
The vacancy figures require an explanation. Page 1 of the notification announces 147 Driver Operator vacancies. Page 2 lists district-wise vacancies under two columns: Limited Recruitment, or LR, and Direct Recruitment, or DR. The printed totals are 3 for LR and 147 for DR, and the individual district entries add up to those amounts.
This creates a discrepancy with the opening total. Consequently, this article does not declare 150 as the confirmed total or alter the breakdown to 144 DR plus 3 backlog vacancies. Applicants should follow any clarification or revised vacancy statement issued by SLPRB.
The following table reproduces the district figures in the notification. It is not a corrected or reconciled allocation.
| District, as named in the notification | LR / Backlog | DR |
|---|---|---|
| Srikakulam | 1 | 8 |
| Vizianagaram | 0 | 7 |
| Parvathipuram Manyam | 0 | 3 |
| Visakhapatnam City | 1 | 7 |
| Anakapalli | 0 | 2 |
| Alluri Sitharama Raju | 0 | 1 |
| East Godavari (RJY) | 0 | 8 |
| Kakinada | 0 | 6 |
| Dr. B. R. Ambedkar Konaseema | 0 | 3 |
| West Godavari | 0 | 2 |
| Eluru | 0 | 2 |
| NTR City | 0 | 9 |
| Krishna | 0 | 13 |
| Guntur | 0 | 5 |
| Palnadu | 0 | 6 |
| Bapatla | 0 | 4 |
| Prakasam | 0 | 8 |
| Sri Potti Sriramulu Nellore | 0 | 10 |
| Tirupati | 0 | 10 |
| Chittoor | 0 | 5 |
| Annamayya | 0 | 1 |
| YSR Kadapa | 1 | 4 |
| Nandyal | 0 | 7 |
| Ananthapuramu | 0 | 5 |
| Kurnool | 0 | 3 |
| Sri Sathya Sai | 0 | 8 |
| Column totals in the notification | 3 | 147 |
The backlog table identifies one ST vacancy each in Srikakulam and Visakhapatnam City, and one BC-C vacancy in YSR Kadapa. These LR vacancies are to be filled by local candidates of the respective revenue district. The notification also describes vacancies as provisional, so the final position may change through official updates.
AP Driver Operator Eligibility: Corrected Qualification
The corrigendum dated 18 September 2026 replaces Paragraph 12 of the original notification. Candidates must have passed Intermediate or an equivalent examination recognised by the State Government as of 1 July 2026. An old screenshot showing SSC should therefore not be treated as the current educational requirement. Official educational qualification corrigendum.
A higher qualification does not remove the other eligibility conditions. Check your qualification certificate, recognised equivalence where relevant, and whether the required qualification was obtained by the cutoff date.
AP Fire Services Recruitment 2026 under Post Code 43 is for men only. Eligibility for women in other SLPRB advertisements does not change the condition stated for this particular post.
Heavy Transport Driving Licence requirement
Candidates must hold a correct and clear Heavy Transport Driving Licence that has been valid for at least two years as of the notification date. Check the vehicle class, relevant dates and validity details on your licence. An LMV licence alone should not be assumed to meet the Heavy Transport requirement.
The licence condition and the driving test serve different purposes. The first establishes eligibility; the second assesses driving and related technical skills during selection. Practical experience does not automatically replace the documentary licence requirement.
Age Limit and Date-of-Birth Range
For general candidates, the notification requires an age of at least 18 years but below 30 years as of 1 July 2026. It specifies a birth-date range from 2 July 1996 to 1 July 2008, inclusive. These exact dates are more useful than the abbreviated phrase “18–30 years,” which can be misunderstood.
Eligible serving Home Guards have a different base upper age condition: at least 18 years but below 32 years on the same cutoff date. Their stated birth-date range is 2 July 1994 to 1 July 2008, inclusive.
The Home Guard provision applies subject to conditions, including Andhra Pradesh local candidature, service in the AP Police Department on the notification date, and at least 360 days of Home Guard service during the preceding two years. Previous service alone does not establish eligibility for this provision.
| Category | Upper-age relaxation described in the notification |
|---|---|
| EWS | Up to 5 years |
| BC Non-Creamy Layer | Up to 5 years |
| SC / ST | Up to 5 years |
| Eligible AP State Government employees | Regular service, limited to a maximum of 5 years |
| Eligible Ex-Servicemen | Qualifying military service plus 3 years |
| Eligible whole-time NCC instructors | Qualifying service plus 3 years, subject to the stated conditions |
Consult Paragraph 11 for the full conditions and other specified cases. Do not assume that every relaxation can be added together. Employees of APTRANSCO, DISCOMs, APGENCO, corporations, municipalities and local bodies are excluded from the stated AP State Government employee relaxation.
For age verification, the board relies on the date of birth recorded in the SSC, Matriculation or accepted equivalent certificate. Check those details before completing the application.
Application Fee
The AP Fire Services Recruitment 2026 application fee depends on category and Andhra Pradesh local status. The reduced SC/ST fee is specified for candidates local to AP, rather than all SC/ST applicants regardless of local status.
| Applicant category | Fee |
|---|---|
| AP-local OC, EWS and BC candidates | ₹300 |
| AP-local SC and ST candidates | ₹150 |
| Candidates non-local to Andhra Pradesh | ₹300 |
The notification permits payment through credit card, debit card, net banking or another method made available on the official portal. Keep the receipt and transaction details.
Payment alone does not complete the application. Candidates must also finish and submit the online form. The notification states that cases where the fee is paid but the form is not submitted will be rejected, and the fee will not be refunded.
AP Fire Services Recruitment 2026 Selection Process
There is no Preliminary Written Test for this technical post. However, candidates must take a Final Written Examination after qualifying in the physical and driving stages. Describing the recruitment as having “no written exam” would therefore be incorrect.
The main stages are:
- Certificate verification and Physical Measurement Test, or PMT.
- Physical Efficiency Test, or PET, for candidates who meet the measurements.
- Driving Test for candidates who qualify in the physical stages.
- Technical Written Examination for candidates who qualify in the Driving Test.
- Selection based on written-examination merit and applicable reservation and local-candidate rules.
- Required checks of original certificates, antecedents, medical fitness and other appointment conditions.
Admission to the selection process remains provisional. Receiving a hall ticket does not mean the board has finally accepted all eligibility claims. Information in the application must be supported by genuine documents, and discrepancies may affect candidature at a later stage.
Physical Measurement Test: Height and Chest
For general candidates, the minimum height is 167.6 cm. The chest must measure at least 86.3 cm on full inspiration, with a minimum expansion of 5 cm. Note the measurement condition: 86.3 cm should not be presented as the required unexpanded chest measurement.
| Measurement | General standard | Eligible Agency-area ABO-ST concession |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum height | 167.6 cm | 164 cm |
| Minimum chest on full inspiration | 86.3 cm | 83.8 cm |
| Minimum chest expansion | 5 cm | 5 cm |
The reduced measurements apply to eligible Aboriginal Scheduled Tribe candidates from the Agency areas specified in the notification. They are not a blanket concession for every ST applicant. Candidates claiming this provision need the relevant supporting documents.
For AP Fire Services Recruitment 2026, understanding the measurement rules in advance is as important as preparing for the running test. Check the category-specific requirements before assuming that a concession applies to you.
Physical Efficiency Test: 1600-Metre Run
Candidates who qualify in PMT must complete a 1600-metre run in 10 minutes or less. This is a qualifying test. Spike shoes are prohibited, and the notification states that a second attempt or re-test will not be allowed after an event has been conducted.
Preparation should suit your current physical capacity. The notification advises candidates to obtain a medical examination from a Civil Surgeon before applying to check whether they meet the prescribed physical and medical standards. Candidates with concerns should seek an appropriate assessment rather than making assumptions from a brief online summary.
Participation in prescribed events is compulsory, including for special-category candidates. Follow the reporting time, venue and document instructions communicated through the hall ticket and subsequent official notices.
Driving Test: Minimum 50 Marks out of 100
The Driving Test assesses more than the ability to move a vehicle. It includes control, judgment, signals, mechanical understanding and the ability to attend to minor problems. The maximum score is 100, and candidates must secure at least 50 marks to qualify.
| Assessment area | Maximum marks |
|---|---|
| Starting a heavy vehicle on level roads, uphill and downhill | 10 |
| Changing gears up and down | 10 |
| Road sense, steering, traffic control, anticipation and judgment | 20 |
| Braking, stopping, parking and reversing | 10 |
| Following traffic and Road Police signals | 10 |
| Minor repairs and breakdown problems | 15 |
| Motor vehicle mechanism knowledge | 15 |
| Preventive maintenance knowledge | 10 |
| Total | 100 |
Driving Test marks are not included in final merit. The test is qualifying in nature. Even experienced drivers should revise maintenance and mechanism topics, while continuing to prepare for the written examination that determines relative merit among eligible candidates.
Written Examination Pattern and Qualifying Marks
The AP Fire Services Recruitment 2026 written examination consists of one objective Technical Paper with 100 questions for 100 marks. The duration is three hours. The notification states that questions will be set in English, Telugu and Urdu.
Answers must be marked on an OMR sheet using a blue or black ballpoint pen. Candidates should read the marking instructions carefully rather than relying solely on experience from another examination.
| Category | Minimum qualifying marks |
|---|---|
| OC, including EWS | 40 out of 100 |
| BC | 35 out of 100 |
| SC / ST | 30 out of 100 |
Ex-Servicemen must meet the qualifying standard for their respective communal category. These are qualifying marks, not guaranteed selection cutoffs. Final selection also depends on relative merit, available vacancies and the applicable rules.
Annexure I awards one mark for a correct response and zero for an unanswered question. The reviewed document does not clearly state a penalty for incorrect responses. Consequently, candidates should not assume a confirmed “no negative marking” rule; check the final examination instructions.
AP Driver Operator Syllabus: What to Study
Preparation should follow the Technical Paper syllabus in Annexure I. A routine general-knowledge preparation plan alone would miss much of the content specified for this post. The topics can be organised into four practical study areas.
Vehicle maintenance
Study a driver’s daily responsibilities, daily and weekly maintenance, periodical maintenance, battery care, specific gravity, tyre maintenance and tyre rotation. Understanding why each check matters makes it easier to connect practical experience with objective questions.
Vehicle systems
The syllabus includes fuel, ignition, lighting, brake, clutch and transmission systems. Dashboard instruments and fuel accountability are also listed. Revise how these systems function and the basic problems associated with them.
Minor repairs and routine care
Topics include fan-belt replacement, wheel punctures, air-lock removal, windscreen and wiper care, and cleaning of the canopy and seats. Use the notification’s scope to organise revision instead of assuming that every advanced repair topic is required.
Rules, safety and first aid
BS-VI and older vehicles, Motor Vehicles Act and Rules, traffic signals, first aid practice and safety precautions also appear in the syllabus. The board does not prescribe a particular textbook or publication. Choose study material that covers the listed topics and distinguish practice questions from official exam information.
SLPRB AP Recruitment 2026: Local Status and Reservation
Paragraph 17(f) describes filling the first 5% of direct-recruitment posts through open competition among local and non-local candidates, followed by the remaining 95% with local candidates. The district-local condition for backlog vacancies is separately stated.
Local candidature should not be assumed merely because someone currently lives in a district. The applicable study, residence and other documentary rules must be met. District preferences also matter: the general instructions state that candidates will not be considered for districts left blank in the application.
BC candidates claiming reservation or age relaxation need a community certificate and a valid Non-Creamy Layer certificate issued on or after 1 April 2026. Failure to produce the required NCL certificate at verification may lead to consideration under OC, subject to other eligibility conditions. Do not plan to correct a missing reservation claim after the prescribed stage.
EWS applicants need the prescribed certificate issued on or after 1 April 2026. SC applicants should check the requirement for the latest certificate reflecting the applicable sub-classification. The notification specifies a 2% Ex-Servicemen quota, subject to the stated AP-local and service-related conditions.
For AP Fire Services Recruitment 2026, read these provisions together with your own documents. An online explanation can help identify what to check, but the board assesses individual claims under the full notification and applicable amendments.
AP Fire Services Recruitment 2026 Salary
The notification specifies a pay scale of ₹32,670–₹1,01,970, together with Special Pay of ₹650, under the Revised Pay Scale 2022. The highest figure in the scale is not the starting monthly salary.
Take-home pay depends on the applicable allowances and deductions. The notification alone does not provide enough information to promise an exact in-hand amount. When comparing opportunities, use the official pay scale rather than treating the maximum figure as a first-month payment.
AP Fire Services Recruitment 2026 Apply Online Procedure
Use the following steps after the board announces the application schedule and makes the relevant form available. A link to the official homepage does not, by itself, confirm that applications have opened.
- Visit the official SLPRB Andhra Pradesh website.
- Locate the Driver Operator in Fire Services notification, corrigendum and application schedule.
- Confirm that you meet the age, corrected education, licence and other eligibility conditions.
- Follow the portal’s fee-payment instructions using the required personal, community and SSC details.
- Complete the online application with information matching your certificates.
- Upload the requested documents in the formats and sizes specified by the portal.
- Review district preferences, local status, reservation claims, photograph and signature.
- Submit the form and save the acknowledgement, registration details and payment receipt.
Do not borrow photo dimensions or upload limits from a different recruitment notification. Use the requirements displayed in the actual application portal. Keep registration and contact details secure because they may be needed during later stages.
You can prepare documents before applications open. Wait for the official schedule and the correct portal link before making a payment for this recruitment.
Documents to Keep Ready
Documents needed for online upload and originals required at PMT/PET may differ. The notification lists upload documents on its opening page and verification requirements in Paragraph 29. Also keep proof of the corrected educational qualification ready.
- Passport-size photograph and signature.
- SSC, Matriculation or accepted equivalent certificate for date of birth and related details.
- Intermediate or recognised equivalent qualification certificate.
- Heavy Transport Driving Licence.
- Applicable community, BC NCL or EWS certificate.
- Study certificates from Classes 1 to 7, or the prescribed residence documents where applicable.
- Home Guard service certificate or Ex-Servicemen certificate, if claimed.
- Other supporting documents for age relaxation, Agency-area concessions or migration/local-status claims.
The notification requires originals and one set of photocopies attested by a Gazetted Officer at PMT/PET. It also states that additional time will not be provided for missing required certificates. Reviewing your documents early is therefore a useful part of preparation.
Common Mistakes to Avoid
Three errors are especially easy to make: following the old SSC qualification, assuming that passing the Driving Test completes selection, and treating fee payment as a submitted application. Each can affect an otherwise serious candidate.
A simple preparation sheet can help. Record your education proof, age proof, licence validity, category/local documents and selection stages. Mark which documents are ready and which need attention. This is an organisational suggestion, not an additional eligibility condition imposed by the board.
Divide preparation between the technical syllabus, driving-related knowledge and appropriate physical preparation. When an AP Fire Services Recruitment 2026 update appears, check changes to eligibility and instructions as carefully as you check dates.
AP Fire Services Recruitment 2026 FAQs
1. Is SSC enough to apply?
No. The original notification mentioned SSC, but the official corrigendum dated 18 September 2026 requires Intermediate or a recognised equivalent examination by 1 July 2026. The licence and other eligibility conditions must also be met.
2. Are there 147 vacancies or 150?
The opening page announces 147. The district table shows DR 147 and LR 3, creating a discrepancy. Do not assume 150 or change the breakdown to 144 + 3 without an official clarification.
3. What is the application deadline?
The reviewed notification and qualification corrigendum do not provide the deadline. The notification says application dates will be announced through a separate press release. Check the official website for the relevant schedule.
4. Is there a preliminary written examination?
No. However, candidates who qualify in PMT, PET and the Driving Test must take a Final Written Examination for 100 marks. Written-exam preparation remains necessary.
5. Do Driving Test marks count towards final merit?
No. The Driving Test is qualifying, with at least 50 marks required out of 100. Final relative merit is based on the written-examination score among candidates who satisfy the required stages and conditions.
6. What is the running requirement?
Candidates must complete 1600 metres in 10 minutes or less. Spike shoes are prohibited. Follow the latest hall-ticket and event instructions issued by the board.
7. Can women apply for this Driver Operator post?
The notification specifies Driver Operator (Men), Post Code 43, for men only. Conditions for other SLPRB posts should not be applied to this advertisement.
8. What salary is mentioned in the notification?
The stated pay scale is ₹32,670–₹1,01,970, plus ₹650 Special Pay. This is not a promise of a particular monthly take-home salary, which depends on applicable allowances and deductions.
Official Documents and Updates
| Purpose | Official source |
|---|---|
| Original notification dated 17 September 2026 | Driver Operator notification PDF |
| Corrected qualification dated 18 September 2026 | Educational qualification corrigendum PDF |
| Application schedule and later notices | SLPRB Andhra Pradesh official website |
Prepare the documents that support your eligibility and submit the form after checking the official application schedule. Read amendments alongside the original notification, particularly for the corrected qualification and any clarification of vacancy figures.
Information note: Job Alert Desk is an independent information website. This article explains the supplied notification and the official amendment reviewed. Individual candidature and selection are determined by SLPRB, and its latest official instructions apply.
For More Updates Follow Clickhere

