AP SI Recruitment 2026 covers 378 Sub Inspector vacancies across Civil Police, Armed Reserve and the Special Protection Force, according to the notification dated 16 September 2026 supplied for this article. For graduates preparing for a police career in Andhra Pradesh, the important first step is understanding which post matches their eligibility and how its selection process works.
A recruitment announcement can bring excitement, but it also raises practical questions. Can women apply for every post? Does the physical test contribute to the final score? Is a fee payment enough to complete the application? Getting these answers right can prevent avoidable mistakes later.
This guide explains the AP Police SI notification 2026 in straightforward language, including vacancies, age limits, qualifications, application fees, physical standards and examination stages.
Application schedule note: The supplied notification states that online application dates and the Preliminary Written Test date will be announced separately. Check the SLPRB Andhra Pradesh website for subsequent notices before applying. The dates below describe the supplied document, not a confirmed live application window.
AP SI Recruitment 2026 Overview
| Particular | Details in the supplied notification |
|---|---|
| Recruiting authority | State Level Police Recruitment Board, Andhra Pradesh |
| Notification number | Rc.No.81/SLPRB/Rect.1/2026 |
| Notification date | 16 September 2026 |
| Total vacancies | 378, provisional and subject to change |
| Posts | SCT SI Civil, SCT RSI AR and SI SPF |
| Application mode | Online through SLPRB |
| General qualification | Recognised degree; a specific SC/ST provision is explained below |
| General age rule | At least 21 years and below 27 years on 1 July 2026 |
| Application dates | To be announced separately in the supplied notification |
| Preliminary examination date | To be announced separately in the supplied notification |
| Pay scale | ₹44,570–₹1,27,480, subject to the appointment and training provisions |
| Official portal | https://slprb.ap.gov.in/ |
The vacancy total does not mean every applicant is eligible for all three posts. Gender eligibility, physical requirements, reservation conditions and merit calculations must be checked against the relevant post code.
AP SI Recruitment 2026 Vacancy Details
The notification divides the 378 vacancies into three groups:
| Post code | Post | Eligible applicants by gender | Vacancies |
|---|---|---|---|
| 11 | Stipendiary Cadet Trainee Sub Inspector of Police, Civil | Men and women | 253 |
| 12 | Stipendiary Cadet Trainee Reserve Sub Inspector of Police, AR | Men and women | 116 |
| 31 | Sub Inspector, Special Protection Force | Men | 9 |
| Total | 378 |
Civil accounts for the largest share, followed by Armed Reserve. The nine SPF vacancies belong to a separate post category. Candidates should identify the correct post code before reading the physical tests and final selection rules.
Zone-wise Civil and AR vacancies
| Zone | Civil SI | AR RSI |
|---|---|---|
| Zone I | 42 | 20 |
| Zone II | 39 | 11 |
| Zone III | 39 | 10 |
| Zone IV | 48 | 38 |
| Zone V | 43 | 18 |
| Zone VI | 42 | 19 |
| Total | 253 | 116 |
These figures show the overall zonal distribution. They do not replace the category-wise roster or establish an individual candidate’s local status. Applicants claiming a reservation benefit should read the supporting certificate requirements before completing their form.
Important Dates and Application Status
The supplied AP SI Recruitment 2026 notification gives the following schedule information:
| Event | Status in the notification |
|---|---|
| Notification issued | 16 September 2026 |
| Online application opening date | Separate announcement required |
| Last date to apply | Separate announcement required |
| Preliminary Written Test | Separate announcement required |
| PMT/PET schedule | To be communicated through SLPRB |
| Final Written Examination schedule | Not specified in the supplied notification |
A notification release and the opening of an application portal are different events. Avoid assuming that an old application page on the website belongs to this recruitment. Match the post names, year and notification number before entering personal information or paying a fee.
AP SI Recruitment 2026 Eligibility and Qualifications
For post codes 11, 12 and 31, the general educational requirement is a degree from a recognised university or another qualification accepted as equivalent. The qualification reference date in the notification is 1 July 2026.
There is a specific provision for Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe candidates. The document states that these candidates must have passed Intermediate or an accepted equivalent and must have studied a degree in a university, as on the prescribed date.
This provision should not be shortened to “Intermediate pass candidates can apply.” The requirement concerning degree study is also part of the notification. Candidates using this provision should confirm that their educational records satisfy its complete wording.
Applicants with open-university or distance-mode qualifications must also check the recognition requirements described in the document. Having a certificate is not, by itself, proof that the qualification will be accepted for this recruitment.
Before starting the application, compare your name, date of birth and educational details across your SSC certificate and subsequent records. Resolving a mismatch early is usually easier than discovering it during certificate verification.
Age Limit and Relaxation
The general age rule for AP SI Recruitment 2026 is 21 years completed but 27 years not completed on 1 July 2026.
The notification expresses the corresponding birth-date range as 2 July 1999 to 1 July 2005, inclusive, before applying an eligible relaxation.
| Category | Upper-age relaxation described in the notification |
|---|---|
| EWS | Up to 5 years |
| BC, Non-Creamy Layer | Up to 5 years |
| SC and ST | Up to 5 years |
| Eligible Andhra Pradesh government employees | Regular service counted up to a maximum of 5 years, subject to exclusions |
| Eligible ex-servicemen | Service rendered plus 3 years |
| Eligible whole-time NCC instructors | Service rendered plus 3 years, subject to the minimum service condition |
Other narrowly defined provisions also appear in the notification. Applicants should not combine relaxations automatically or assume that every public-sector or contract employee qualifies as an eligible state government employee.
The notification uses the date of birth recorded in the SSC, Matriculation or equivalent certificate. It also warns that online age validation is not a substitute for checking eligibility. Successful form submission does not guarantee that the applicant meets the age rule.
Application Fee
| Applicant category | Fee |
|---|---|
| Andhra Pradesh local OC, including EWS | ₹600 |
| Andhra Pradesh local BC | ₹600 |
| Andhra Pradesh local SC/ST | ₹300 |
| Applicants non-local to Andhra Pradesh | ₹600 |
The document treats non-local applicants under the Open Category for this purpose. Payment must be made through the methods available on the official portal, such as the listed card and net-banking options.
Paying the fee does not complete the application. The notification separately requires submission of the Stage I online form. Keep the payment acknowledgement and the submitted application copy, and check that the portal confirms successful submission.
Candidates applying for more than one eligible post among codes 11, 12 and 31 are instructed to submit only one application form.
AP SI Recruitment 2026 Selection Process
The main recruitment stages described in the notification are:
- Preliminary Written Test.
- Stage II application and required document uploads for qualifying candidates.
- Physical Measurements Test, or PMT.
- Physical Efficiency Test, or PET.
- Final Written Examination.
- Post-specific merit consideration, eligibility verification and other appointment requirements.
Admission to an examination remains provisional. A hall ticket allows a candidate to take part in that stage; it does not confirm final acceptance of educational qualifications, reservation claims or other eligibility conditions.
The most useful preparation approach is to consider the written and physical stages together. Waiting until the preliminary result to understand the physical standards may leave too little time to prepare appropriately.
Preliminary Written Test Pattern
| Paper | Subject | Questions | Marks | Duration |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Paper I | Arithmetic and Reasoning/Mental Ability | 100 | 100 | 3 hours |
| Paper II | General Studies | 100 | 100 | 3 hours |
Both preliminary papers are objective. The notification provides for English, Telugu and Urdu question papers and OMR answering instructions.
Candidates must qualify in each paper separately:
| Category | Minimum qualifying percentage in each paper |
|---|---|
| OC, including EWS | 40% |
| BC | 35% |
| SC/ST | 30% |
A strong mark in one paper does not compensate for failing the other. Preliminary marks are not counted towards final selection, so their immediate purpose is to secure qualification for the next stage.
AP SI Physical Standards
The general PMT requirements are:
| Measurement | Men: post codes 11, 12 and 31 | Women: post codes 11 and 12 |
|---|---|---|
| Height | At least 167.6 cm | At least 152.5 cm |
| Chest | At least 86.3 cm on full inspiration, with at least 5 cm expansion | Not specified in this table |
| Weight | Not specified in this table | At least 40 kg |
The notification includes different standards for eligible Aboriginal Scheduled Tribe candidates from specified agency areas. Under that provision, the stated male requirements are 160 cm height and 80 cm chest on full inspiration with at least 3 cm expansion. For eligible women, the stated requirements are 150 cm height and 38 kg weight.
These concessions are restricted to the conditions and areas identified in the notification. They should not be described as a general relaxation available to every ST applicant.
Separate medical standards also apply. Candidates should read that section in full rather than assuming that meeting height and running requirements alone establishes fitness for appointment.
AP SI Recruitment 2026 Physical Efficiency Test
The qualifying event standards in the supplied notification are:
| Event | General male candidates | Ex-servicemen | Women |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1,600-metre run | 8 minutes | 9 minutes 30 seconds | 10 minutes 30 seconds |
| 100-metre run | 15 seconds | 16.5 seconds | 18 seconds |
| Long jump | 3.80 metres | 3.65 metres | 2.75 metres |
Civil SI: Post code 11
Candidates must qualify in the 1,600-metre run and one of the other two events: the 100-metre run or long jump. The PET is qualifying for this post.
AR RSI: Post code 12
Men and women must qualify in all three events. The PET carries 100 marks, with performance assessed according to the notification’s grading tables.
SPF SI: Post code 31
Male candidates must qualify in all three events. The PET also carries 100 marks for this post.
For AR and SPF, the maximum event marks are 40 for the 1,600-metre run, 30 for the 100-metre run and 30 for long jump. The notification prohibits spike shoes during PET. Candidates should review the event instructions and scoring tables before attending.
Final Written Examination and Merit
The final examination contains four papers, each lasting three hours:
| Paper | Subject | Civil SI maximum marks | AR RSI/SPF SI maximum marks |
|---|---|---|---|
| I | English, descriptive | 100 | 100 |
| II | Telugu or Urdu, descriptive | 100 | 100 |
| III | Arithmetic and Reasoning/Mental Ability, objective | 200 | 100 |
| IV | General Studies, objective | 200 | 100 |
Papers I and II are qualifying and do not contribute to the final merit total. They still matter: candidates who fail the qualifying requirement cannot progress based only on strong marks in the objective papers.
The stated qualifying percentages in each final paper are 40% for OC including EWS, 35% for BC and 30% for SC/ST.
| Post | Components used for final merit |
|---|---|
| Civil SI | Paper III: 200 + Paper IV: 200 = 400 marks |
| AR RSI | Paper III: 100 + Paper IV: 100 + PET: 100 = 300 marks |
| SPF SI | Paper III: 100 + Paper IV: 100 + PET: 100 = 300 marks |
These totals remain subject to reservation, local-cadre provisions and the other selection rules. The distinction is important: physical performance contributes marks for AR and SPF, while Civil PET is qualifying.
Syllabus and Practical Preparation
The arithmetic syllabus includes topics such as percentages, averages, ratio and proportion, profit and loss, interest, time and work, time and distance, number systems and mensuration. Reasoning covers verbal and non-verbal areas, including analogies, similarities, differences, spatial understanding and problem-solving.
General Studies covers general science, current events, Indian history and the national movement, geography, polity and the economy. Candidates should use the notification’s Annexure II as the syllabus reference.
A practical study routine can divide time between arithmetic practice, reasoning, General Studies revision and descriptive-language work. After each practice test, review why an answer was wrong. An error caused by a weak concept needs a different response from an error caused by rushing.
Do not neglect English and Telugu or Urdu simply because those final papers are qualifying. Regular short writing practice can make essay, comprehension, précis and letter-writing tasks more manageable.
Documents to Keep Ready
The Stage I upload requirements in the notification include a passport-size photograph, signature, SSC certificate and applicable community, EWS and Non-Creamy Layer certificates.
Candidates should also organise their educational records, local-status supporting documents and any special-category certificates needed for later stages. Keep readable scanned copies and accessible originals.
For BC reservation claims, the notification requires a valid Non-Creamy Layer certificate issued on or after 1 April 2026. The stated EWS certificate date requirement is also on or after 1 April 2026.
A missing or invalid certificate can affect the category under which a candidate is considered. Do not choose a reservation category simply because an older certificate was accepted in another recruitment.
How to Apply for AP SI Recruitment 2026
Follow these steps once SLPRB announces the application schedule and activates the relevant link:
- Open the official SLPRB Andhra Pradesh website.
- Locate the notice matching the SI recruitment and notification number.
- Read the latest instructions, including any corrections or schedule updates.
- Confirm your eligible post choices and category.
- Pay the prescribed fee through the official payment process.
- Complete the Stage I application with details matching your certificates.
- Upload the documents in the format and size specified by the live portal.
- Review the application carefully, especially date of birth, category and contact details.
- Submit the form and save the final acknowledgement.
- If you qualify in the preliminary examination, follow the separate Stage II instructions.
Do not rely only on a payment-success message. Save proof that the application itself was submitted. Use a mobile number you can continue accessing throughout the recruitment process.
Pay Scale and Training
The supplied notification states a pay scale of ₹44,570–₹1,27,480 for post codes 11, 12 and 31 under the Revised Pay Scale 2022. It also describes a government-fixed stipend during training and subsequent regular-pay provisions.
The pay scale should not be presented as guaranteed monthly take-home salary. Training status, applicable allowances and deductions affect what an individual actually receives. Candidates looking at the role as a long-term career should read the training and appointment conditions along with the salary information.
Frequently Asked Questions
How many vacancies are listed in AP SI Recruitment 2026?
The supplied notification lists 378 provisional vacancies: 253 Civil SI, 116 AR RSI and 9 SPF SI posts.
Can women apply?
Women are eligible for Civil SI and AR RSI under post codes 11 and 12. The SPF SI post under code 31 is listed for men.
What is the last date to apply?
The supplied notification does not specify a last date. It says the application schedule will be announced separately. Check the official SLPRB website for subsequent announcements.
Is a degree compulsory for every applicant?
A recognised degree is the general requirement. The notification includes a specific SC/ST provision involving Intermediate or equivalent plus degree study. Read the full provision before claiming eligibility under it.
Are preliminary marks counted in final selection?
No. Preliminary marks determine qualification for the next stage and do not contribute to final merit.
Is the physical test the same for Civil and AR?
No. Civil requires the 1,600-metre run plus one of the other two events and has a qualifying PET. AR requires all three events and includes PET marks in final merit. SPF also requires all three events for its eligible male candidates.
Does fee payment complete the online application?
No. Candidates must also complete and submit the Stage I application. The payment receipt and final application acknowledgement serve different purposes.
Official Source and Applicant Reminder
Source document: SLPRB notification Rc.No.81/SLPRB/Rect.1/2026, dated 16 September 2026, supplied as SLPRBapsi–160926.pdf. Vacancy and schedule details appear on pages 1–2; age, qualifications and fees on pages 5–9; examination and physical-test rules on pages 9–15.
Official website: State Level Police Recruitment Board, Andhra Pradesh.
Prepare your documents, identify the correct post code and follow the Board’s later announcements. This article is an independent explanation of the supplied notification. The official notification, subsequent amendments and SLPRB instructions govern the recruitment.
For More Updates Follow Clickhere

